My CS College Degree in 5 Minutes

Courses and projects I did during my bachelor’s

Raymond Cheng
5 min readJun 7, 2021
Photo by Boitumelo Phetla on Unsplash

Intro

For those of you who have followed me for a while or if you are a friend of mine reading this, you might know that I am currently studying at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. After three years of effort, I am pleased to announce that I just graduated, with a Bachelor's degree of Engineering in Computer Science!

Here, in this short post, I want to lay out the courses that I have taken and the projects I have done throughout my undergraduate. I want to share with you guys the course plan that I have gone with, to not only give you an idea about what a typical CS university curriculum is like but also share some of the courses I found interesting as well as a few projects I did. However, note that my pathway might differ from many other university students as I got transferred credits from high school where I did IB, so I didn’t have to take some introductory courses, like Introduction to Computer Science or Calculus I and II. It’s also the reason why I am able to graduate a year earlier.

Timeline

Ok, so let’s start way back to my first year — Fall 2018, when I first entered university. In the fall semester, I took the following courses:

--

--

Raymond Cheng

Master’s Student at Carnegie Mellon, Top Writer in AI, Top 1000 Writer, Blogging on ML | Data Science | NLP. Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/itsuncheng/